We would like to invite you to the second South African Congress of Oncology (SACO) to be held from 1 – 3 September 2023 in Cape Town. There will also be a pre-congress workshop on 31 August 2023 with a focus on radiotherapy contouring for the oncologists and RTTs as well as a workshop for allied health.

SACO is a collaboration of multiple Societies including the Clinical and Radiation Oncologists, Paediatric Oncologists, Gynaecologic Oncologists, Medical Physicists, Radiotherapists, Pharmacists, Oncology Nurses and Oncology Social Workers.

Furthermore, for the first time in 2023, the Radiological Society of South Africa (RSSA) will also participate in SACO, and we look forward to welcoming them to our congress and collaborating in combined sessions to the benefit of all our societies. Together, our Societies are striving to build on our knowledge, experience and expertise to ultimately improve the quality of cancer care for our patients.

The Congress will be hosted at The Cape Town International Convention Centre (CTICC) – a world-class venue in the heart of the city. The Convention Centre is easily accessible, and the facilities are highly accommodating of the needs of our delegates, sponsors and exhibitors.

There will be multiple parallel scientific sessions catering for all our disciplines, plenary sessions, as well as proffered papers chosen on academic merit. Scientific sessions will focus on education and research relevant to our setting in Southern Africa.

There will be prizes for the best registrar/fellow presentations, a prize for the best poster presentation as well as prizes for the best presentations from the allied groups who do not have a separate primary conference.

We are honoured to have Prof Johan Fagan present the second “Archbishop Desmond Tutu Distinguished Lecture” at the Congress.

SACO promises to be informative, engaging and worthwhile. We look forward to welcoming you to our Congress in Cape Town in September 2023.

Warm regards,


Dr Mariza Tunmer (Chair & SASCRO)

Prof Leon Snyman (SASGO)

Dr Paul Rischbieter (RSSA)

Dr Margie Venter (PALPRAC)

Ms Shelley Muscat (NONSA)

Dr Welly den Hollander (SAOSWF)

Ms Carien van der Merwe (SASOPh)

Dr Deirdré Long & Ms Rene Botha (Radiation Therapists)

Dr Pieter du Toit (SAAPMB)